LHSC COMISSION MEETING MINUTES

1

Louisiana Highway Safety Commission DPS Management and Finance Building 7979 Independence Blvd. Room 308 Baton Rouge, LA 70806 September 9, 2019 9:30am

CALL TO ORDER:

Commission members were welcomed by Chairman Jim Craft and Executive Director Lisa Freeman. All members were presented with packets containing the following information: Agenda, LHSC Commission Meeting Minutes, 2020 Problem ID Summary, Federal Fiscal Year 2020 Addendum, Federal Fiscal Year 2019 Amendment, Commissioner Voting Ballots; and Updates to the State of Louisiana Uniform Crash Report flyer.

ROLL CALL:

Chairman, Chief James P. "Jim" Craft (retired) Fabian Blache Jeffrey McKneely Wally McMakin Sheriff Rodney Arbuckle (retired) Russell Haman Mayor Reggie Skains Sheriff Jimmy Pohlman Vice Chairman, Lt. Colonel Mark Oxley (retired) John Snow Chris Tyson

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS:

Executive Director Freeman introduced LHSA Staff, including the following individuals and their respective staffing roles:

Lyrica Johnson – Planner Terry Chustz—Program Coordinator, Police Traffic Services Chuck Miller – Program Coordinator, Traffic Records/DOTD Transfer Funds Chela Mitchell – Program Coordinator, Impaired Driving Jessica Bedwell – Program Coordinator, Young Drivers/Distracted Driving/Earned Media A'Kimberly Short – Program Coordinator, Occupant Protection/Motorcycle Safety/ Bicycle-Pedestrian Safety Chanita Vazquez – Program Coordinator, Regional Coalitions/Diversity Outreach Dortha Cummins –Deputy Director, Planning & Administration/Paid Media/Surveys Cindy Wheeler – Grants Reviewer 2 Ruth Zanders – Grants Reviewer 1 Ladricka Minor- Administrative Coordinator 4 Linda Tillman – Accountant 4 Linda Kennedy – Accountant 3 Chairman Craft acknowledged the Law Enforcement Liaisons in attendance and introduced them.

SUB-GRANTEE PRESENTATIONS:

TRAFFIC CRASH DATA BRIEFING:

Dr. Helmut Schneider – Executive Director, Center for Analytics & Research in Traffic Safety; Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs, Ourso College of Business, LSU

STRATEGIC HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN (SHSP):

Adriane McRae- Highway Safety Administrator, DOTD

OVERTIME LAW ENFORCEMENT ACTIVITY REPORT:

Bobby Breland, LHSC Traffic Safety Consultant

LOUISIANA PASSENGER SAFETY TASK FORCE:

Bridget Gardner, RN, Injury Prevention Program Director, University Medical Center New Orleans

PROJECT "SNAP" (Social Norming for Alcohol Prevention):

Gecyka Williams, Program Coordinator/School Facilitator: Project Southwest Louisiana Area Health Education Center Foundation.

ETHICS:

Jennifer Murray, DPS Attorney, Office of Legal Affairs, provided information to the Commissioners regarding the Louisiana Code of Ethics, with particular emphasis on conflicts of interests and recusals.

PRESENTATION OF VOTING MEASURES:

Deputy Director Dortha Cummins presented the following projects requiring Commission approval, to be incorporated into LHSA's HSP (Highway Safety Plan), which included the following:

Amendment - Center for Analytics & Research in Transportation Safety

Addendum – Traffic Records Support

Gonzales Police Department Law Enforcement: Non-motorized Project

*Ballots were issued to all LHSC Commission members to vote on the project proposals.

Chairman Craft instructed Commissioners to compete the ballots by choosing to approve, deny or abstain from each project. Completed ballots were submitted to Planner Lyrica Johnson for tallying and completion. All proposals were approved.

OLD BUSINESS:

- Executive Director Freeman reminded the board of the upcoming meeting on December 9th
- Executive Director Freeman reminded the board of the DOTD Summit on November 19th thru November 20th at the Crowne Plaza in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and indicated a link will be re-sent to Commissions.

NEW BUSINESS:

- Executive Director Freeman informed the board of the submission of the Legislative packet to Operation Development with LSP at the end of the week.

ADJOURNMENT:

After the presentation of old and new business, Chairman James P. "Jim" Craft called for a motion to adjourn. The motion was made by Commissioner Arbuckle and seconded by Commissioner McKneely, and with no objections, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Lisa Freeman